This might be old news to some of you, but I can't remember what stories I have told to which people, so I am just going to air my laundry in cyberspace, and you can check back periodically.
Having said that, I am buying a townhouse here in Atlanta. It is three doors down from my current unit, and exactly the same layout, but with some upgrades, like hardwood floors and stainless steel appliances.
Basically, it was a spur of the moment decision that I have been thinking about for 10 years. My lease is up tomorrow, and this unit was for sale. Naturally, by the time I called to see it, there was another bid in, and I had to put in a bid that day, if I wanted to be considered. I did put in a bid, and spent a frantic night on the phone with Peaches alternating between “What will I do if I get it, I can’t afford it” and “If I don’t get it I will kill myself”.
At noon the next day, my Realtor called to say that the other bid was rejected (yay) but there was a counter offer to my bid. I accepted their counteroffer, after much gnashing of teeth. I have to think that a couple of thousand dollars won’t make a huge difference over the life of a 30 year loan. That is what I am telling myself, don’t give me any grief about it, since I am already the Queen of Excess Stomach Acid.
I spent yesterday afternoon on the phone with the Loan Guy, who was very nice and answered all of my ridiculous questions. I was prequalified for the amount of the loan needed, so that was a positive step. This is the same realtor/mortage combo that 5 or 6 of my coworkers (all finance types) have used (several of them repeatedly), so I feel that I am in good hands.
Even so, I am still a nervous wreck. I just came back from faxing 58 pages for loan approval. I offered a 3 week closing, so everything is at a dead rush. I am slated to close on 7/14 (really the 15th, but it is a Saturday). One good thing about this is that I won’t have as much time to stew about it. You guys know how I love to stew.
It seems like there are still a lot of things that could happen, like the appraisal coming in low, or something weird creeping out of my financial closet, but we are clicking right along.
I called the property management company on my current unit, and if I give notice today, I will be able to leave by 7/30, which gives me time to paint a bit, if I want and move in a leisurely fashion. Since everything that I own will be dragged down the sidewalk for my neighbors to see, might as well stretch it out and give them a thrill. Actually, I am sure I will hire some movers for a few hours, to drag the heavy stuff, but some of it I can do, since I don’t really want to pack up my whole kitchen and then unpack it again 75 feet to the West.
If anyone has any thoughts/ideas/suggestions on moving things short distances, I would love to hear them!
I will try to keep updating this blog with house stuff (including pictures) when I get back inside.
I also owe updates on my France trip, so watch this space!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment