Tuesday, May 29, 2007

All Dairy, All the Time

Since the "making my own butter" thing went over so well, I thought I would confess my most recent experiment in the Dairy Arts.

I have been making homemade ice cream.

Now, since you can buy ice cream at the store, just like you can buy butter at the store, I am expecting the same hailstorm of derision that accompanied my last confession.

Before you can put fingers to keyboard, let me just tell you that it was good, good, GOOD!

I started with a lemon ice cream, made to accompany the Elvis cake for the Lizard's birthday. I actually liked the ice cream way more than the cake. It was very tart, yet creamy. Lizard said it tasted like the middle of a lemon meringue pie. I don't know if that is a good thing, since you can buy that crap in a can for $1.50 at the grocery store, but I thought it was yummy.

I also made some banana-coconut ice cream this weekend, as a thank you for taking me to pick up my car, after the brake light fiasco (brake lights wouldn't go off, drained the battery, just what I need in the morning). I haven't heard from him, but the unfrozen portion was pretty good, but more banana-y than coconut-y, if that makes sense.

Finally, I made some cassis sorbet yesterday. It was delicious. I can't tell you what it reminded me of, or Lizard will start yapping about pictures from the place that starts with an eff and ends with "rance". It was quite light and refreshing, after the artery clogging, but creamy, earlier versions.

3 flavors down, at least 28 to go!

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

OK, I approve of ice cream more than butter, but really, whatever keeps you out of trouble is fine with me. Who got the car-related ice cream? AND, with the butter and cake, we got a blow-by-blow with instructions, recipe, and pictures; have you started slacking, or does ice cream really take that much longer :-)

Glad you're back blogging!
~ The Baroness

Anonymous said...

Apparently, my poor addled brain has completely blotted out the derision rained upon you. My recollection was that most of the feedback had been positive. As in "Mmmmm, butter...".

You're quite charming, of course, but you'd be more so if you dispensed with the self-deprecating crap. Leave that to us, your friends.

Edacious J said...

CLEARLY, the passage of time has dimmed the memory of the vitriol and threats hurled at "anonymous" posters. I have given you all your own little blog names, so there really is no excuse...

The Baroness von Pinkenevil comes from a large family, so intimidation and threats work!

The "car" ice cream (took me a minute to figure that out, thought it was an oblique reference to the lemon) was for my friend who does not yet have a blog name. I like his middle name as a nickname, but I was sworn to secrecy. I will come up with one in due time. these things can't be rushed...

Glad to be back!