Friday, October 27, 2006
Welcome to Fuckville
The gateway to our little slice of Atlanta is the Krog Street Tunnel, which was completed in 1912, if you are going north, and 1913, if you are going south. The Krog Street Tunnel is known as the “Graffiti Tunnel” in the local lexicon, and is a fixture in most directions (…go past the Graffiti Tunnel and turn right…).
I really like the Krog Tunnel, because I see art and political statements and concert announcements and an upwelling of urban Angst. My local friends think that it looks like a place where people would sell crack.
It is a bit creepy, as it is only a two-lane tunnel, one in each direction, with large concrete pillars in the middle of the street. The feature that has led to its graffitification is that there are raised sidewalks on either side, enabling a pedestrian to travel through the tunnel without taking their lives into their own hands (unless they are afraid of crack dealers). The tunnel is lit with those eerily chipper peachy sodium lights, but not enough to adequately light the tunnel, leading to an unfriendly air for nighttime traversing.
On the Cabbagetown side (South side) of this tunnel is a four-way stop sign. At this stop sign, some helpful individual has posted a wooden sign. This sign is made up of two parts; the top portion, painted cheerfully and colorfully, said, “Welcome to Cabbagetown”. The lower portion was painted in chalkboard paint, and people would post messages there, things like lost pets, farmers markets, garage sales. It really was quite handy.
Alas, this sign is no more. Oh, the sign is still there, but it has been modified. Someone has painted the whole thing this really tragic magenta color, and scrawled across it in dripping black paint, “Welcome to Fuckville.” See, it took me a while, but I got there eventually, dear readers.
While I mourn the loss of our community bulletin board, this sign intrigues me.
What does that mean, “Fuckville”? Are the people that live here “fucks”? Is this the place where everyone comes to fuck? Will we get “fucked” living here? The mutable nature of the word really causes a lot of ambiguity.
Granted, I, as a denizen of Fuc..., I mean Cabbagetown, I hope that several of the more negative implications of this sign are not valid.
On the whole, I have to chalk this up as one of my favorite nonsensical messages. It comes in a close second behind the guy who was motivated to write, in large, 12 inch high red letters, “Continental breakfast is not a real breakfast.”
Take that, establishment!
Sunday, October 22, 2006
Buyin' Old Stuff

Sunday, October 15, 2006
Going once...going twice...SOLD!
I think it was probably that I want a few "new" pieces of furniture, but am feeling financially oppressed. However it started, I have been obsessively stalking auctions in the Atlanta area on the web for the last week.
I did find one site, here, that really fueled the fire. I was looking at their prior auctions, and the selling prices seemed super reasonable (check the months prior to May, they are behind in updating their prices). Naturally, they hold the auctions every two weeks, and I found the site the night of their auction. That meant that I have been waiting not so patiently for over a week now.
Mercifully, AuctionZip.com enabled me to find an auction that was being held yesterday in Loganville, GA. I didn't even know where Loganville was, but it turns out it is about 30 miles east of Atlanta.
I drove out there yesterday afternoon, for a 5 o'clock auction, and had a great time. There was a little bit of everything, from really expensive furniture, to boxes of random crap. I was a little bit surprised by the prices, since some of the things I thought would bring high bids went for very little, while some of the things that I disparage as 'collectible crap', went for huge sums. Takes all kinds, I guess.
This does mean good things for my quest for additional furnishings. Now I just need to find a truck.
I am hoping that I don't fall victim to the Diderot Effect. Diderot was a French writer who wrote an essay called "Regrets on Parting with My Old Dressing Gown." He had been given a fancy new gown, so he got rid of his old one. He then realized that his worn furnishings didn't fit with the new gown. He found himself replacing tapestries, chairs, desks, and bookshelves in an effort to conform to the luxury of the gown. Eventually, he found himself financially depleted, uncomfortable amidst his new possessions, and resenting the "scarlet robe that forced everything else to conform with its own elegant tone."
Realistically, I understand that replacing the $10 nightstand that I have had for over a decade with something from an auction costing less than $100 (my personal limit for nightstands), is hardly the apex of a slippery slope. But you never know. I don't want to wind up with a scarlet dressing gown.
Thursday, October 12, 2006
Judgement Day
This afternoon, as I was snarfing down a Hershey bar, I hit a new low, even for me. I don’t even think that you need my evil superpower to appreciate this.
I have been so good lately. I have been eating less and walking the dog. I have brought in my lunch for almost three weeks, comprised of healthy food, and eaten smaller portions. The vending machine is a stranger to me. Over the last few months or so, I have lost about 20 pounds, which is good, but akin to bailing out the Batiquitos Lagoon with a tablespoon (I am getting better; before, I probably would have said Atlantic Ocean/teaspoon).
Therefore, I am not ashamed to say that I wanted chocolate this afternoon. I hit the vending machine and sat down to enjoy my plain old Hershey “chocolate” bar. It isn’t really chocolate, but every other option in the vend-o-matic had nuts of some sort.
After I merrily snapped it into segments, I lined them up like soldiers and proceeded to decimate the regiment.
There was some sort of reference to eBay on the wrapper, and loving eBay as I do, I took a moment to read the fine print.
Imagine my chagrin when I read the eight words that struck me like a knife in the chest, “Candy is a treat. Please consume in moderation.”
Judgement! From a candy bar! When I was least expecting it! I was lured in with the promise of vintage ceramic collectibles and leveled with commentary on the size of my ass.
I found myself trying to justify my consumption of the bar to the wrapper. How twisted is that?
Monday, October 09, 2006
Feelin' Funkadelic

There I was, completely stressed out, watching my beloved Padres lose their chance to continue on in the post-season, and my friend Lizard called. She had been out and about all day, and wanted to come over to finish watching the game with me last night. I have to admit, I wasn't thrilled about the idea, as I hadn't showered, the house was a wreck and the Padres were losing.
Even though she didn't really care about the team, and it was late, she arrived on my doorstep bearing Taco Bell and a joie de vivre that was sorely lacking around my home.
It was much more fun watching the last little bit of the game with her, and the laughter made the loss a bit more bearable.
So, thank you Lizard, for the snack and the laughs. I needed them!
Sunday, October 01, 2006
OMG!!! Padres Win the National League West!!!

Can you believe it? Twice in a row! I am TOTALLY going to go buy a lottery ticket!
My San Diego Padres have never won back to back division titles, in the entire history of their franchise. Since they were established in 1969 (like this author), that is quite a statement. We have also never had anyone throw a no-hitter, perfect game or hit for the cycle. These things will come in time, I am sure. I can feel them in the wind.
Prior division wins (or wild card berths) were claimed in 1984, 1996, 1998, 2005. Now, we can add one more year to that list - 2006!
We ended up with the same record as the Dodgers, 88-74, but we won the division based on our domination of them all season. We are playing the slumping Cards, and the Dodgers will fly to New York to take on the Mets.
Not only is this a historic moment for the Padres, but what it really means is that I will get to watch the Padres play on TV again! This only getting to see them when they play the Cubs (thank you WGN), or the Braves (ditto TBS) is the pits.
The Padres are going to the playoffs!!!! I am beside myself! Woo hoo!
I am convinced that the fact that SGBD is wearing her Padres collar, as well as her Padres kerchief, is what helped push them onward to victory. Don't underestimate the power of the Sweet Georgia Brown Dog.
Let's go, Pa-dres, let's go! (clap, clap) Let's go, Pa-dres, let's go!