Monday, August 28, 2006

Monday : Just Another Exercise in Futility

I really hate to get out of bed in the morning. When the alarm goes off, I feel inordinately put upon. “What?!? I have to get out of bed? I just got into bed a mere 9 hours ago!”

I immediately begin to run through a listing of excuses for not getting out of bed. Can I hit snooze and enjoy a few more minutes of bliss? If I don’t eat anything, I can sleep an extra 7 minutes. If I lather and rinse, instead of lathering, rinsing and repeating, that buys me almost 9 minutes of shut eye. As a result of my constant bargaining, I have my morning routine down to the bare bones, and frequently walk around with damp hair, starving and generally unmoisturized and looking like hell.

Once I become vertical, you would think the excuses would stop. Well, they don’t. I can just sit here for a minute. Do I feel queasy? Did the Padres win last night? Is that a bone sticking through the skin? Any reason that I can think of that will prevent or delay my getting ready to actually leave the house to go to work is eagerly grasped.

Inevitably, one minute will turn into 13, and I will be late.

I fell asleep in the car this morning on the way to work. Not dozing, not the head-jerk-I’m-awake-thing, but completely and totally asleep. Of course, since I carpool, and this isn’t my week to drive, it wasn’t the tragedy that it would have been last week. One minute I was chatting desultorily about Hurricane Ernesto, and the next minute, I was at the office. Since my carpool buddy is human and subject to the laws of the space-time continuum, I am pretty sure that more than a minute elapsed. She assured me that I wasn’t snoring.

Thursday, August 24, 2006

Speaking of biters…

Sweet Georgia Brown Dog has had another incident. (She would never bite anyone, but I couldn’t resist the segue.)

I was getting ready to take her outside on Tuesday morning, before leaving for work, and she was jumping around, as is her wont to do. She landed funny on the hardwoods and started yelping, and her little leg was sticking out at a funny angle. Since this is “the leg” from the Mother’s Day Attack, I was panicked.

I cancelled with my carpool, and drove her to the Vet. They x-rayed her leg, and found a healing fracture in her fibula (probably left over from The Attack), and some hip dysplasia. I still don’t understand why that would cause the pain, but I am guessing she pulled something or strained something.

The vet suggested that she might have some osteo-necrosis or something like that (dead bone) in her hip, and it might require surgery. I know you non-pet people are laughing at me, but I know that if she needs it, I will be packing a lunch for months and having orthopedic surgery on a ten-pound terrier mix.

She is on anti-inflammatory and pain-killer drugs, and seems a bit woozy most of the time. I am hoping that she will rest and heal and be relatively back to normal.

It is so sad to see her limping around. She isn’t putting weight on her foot, and I have been carrying her up and down stairs and building little ramps to the sofa out of floor pillows. I am not ready for her to be a geriatric little dog. She is my best friend.

Oppression in the Summertime

I have been meaning to post something new to my blog for a while. Lord knows that my one friend has been harassing me about it.

It isn’t like I don’t have anything to say. On the contrary, I have too much to say, too much to do, to noodle around posting on my blog. Or to take the time to share pictures of my trip from France. Yes, yes, yes, I have heard it all before.

Imagine my horror when, in addition to being Internet-free for over a month at home (long story), the Network Gestapo locked down ‘net access at the office, too!!! How will I live?

I can understand that they don’t want me surfing the web and viewing lascivious content at the office. I don’t do that anyway. But I do check my personal mail account, read the daily headlines, transfer funds from Checking to Savings, periodically monitor my 401(k) and watch streaming video of my dog at day care.

The streaming video is not the best, from a bandwidth-perspective, I get that, I really do. But the rest is really too, too much.

There have been a few people laid off in the last two days for “electronic infractions”, maybe 4 or 5 total. The only good thing about that is that there will be more boxes for the rest of us on our annual December 1st layoff party. Seeing so many people leave with boxes yesterday did make me think fondly of cooler weather. Christmas comes early to the corporate drone.

I do have hopes that the noose will eventually be loosened, but who knows?

On a positive note, BellSouth is scheduled to come out on Saturday, sometime between 8-12 to resolve my lack of dial tone and DSL service. Hopefully I will be able to post this then.

See! I am typing this into a Word doc, how archaic! Cutting and pasting might be involved. Quelle tragique, mas non? I can’t even check my French spelling on Babelfish, those bastards!

All it takes is one less “t” to go from bitter to biter…